Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
> Jensen Healey & Jensen GT Tech > Carburetors > Rebuild or upgrade?

Moderated by: Greg Fletcher
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Rebuild or upgrade?  Rate Topic 
AuthorPost
 Posted: 12-17-2018 02:14 pm
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
JGriff

I’m a newbie to the JH world so forgive me if this is a rookie question.
My new to me Jensen has about 66k miles. I have some service history on the car over the last 5-6 years but it appears the Strombergs on it have not been worked on in a while. The car is running OK but a little rich which I need to track down why. It has an aftermarket fuel pump (Mr. Gasket 42S Electric Fuel Pump) that was recently installed so I’m wondering if that is contributing to the running rich. Any thoughts on this?

Anyway I feel the carbs probably should be rebuilt. They look like they haven’t been touched in a while and I’ve noticed both seem to be leaking a little which sounds like a big fire hazard. I would send them out to someone for a full overhaul and not try to do them myself. The question I have is would this be a good opportunity to do a Dellorto conversion? Is going to a Dell 45s that big of an upgrade?

Thank you.

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Posted: 12-18-2018 02:03 pm
  PM Quote Reply
2nd Post
Frank Schwartz