New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
motor oil  Rate Topic 
AuthorPost
 Posted: 01-22-2007 02:03 am
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
crothberg

hi all,

i just read the keith ansell piece in the standard.  i had seen this on another forum, but i'm still not sure what oil would best protect the older, broken in engines in most of our cars. my understanding is that mr ansell refers to experience with vintage british cars, not specifically lotus engined 4 valve JH's.

i note that the article  makes no mention of mobil 1 (good or bad).

i'm relatively new to this hobby (got the JH 6.06) so i lack much hands on experience.  is there an advantage in running  zddp rich dino oils over synthetics?

it is my undstanding that the valvetrain in our cars has much in common with modern engines - whose manufacturers recommend synthetic.  am i missing the issues intinsic to these cars? 

will i deprive my car of essential protection in swithing to a synthetic?                

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Posted: 01-22-2007 05:20 am
  PM Quote Reply
2nd Post
Jensen Healey
Super Moderator

There are several issues with the 907 that shouldn't occur on a modern engine. The dry starting and the heat expansion and flexing of the bearing panel causing the tolerances to change. A little insurance could go a long way.

The main problem with synthetics is their propensity to leak more than regular oil from the already porous 907. If you want to use it, the article states that Red Line still contains the zddp.

Kurt

Posted: 01-23-2007 06:04 pm
  PM Quote Reply
3rd Post
Greg Fletcher
Administrator