Moderated by: Greg Fletcher
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Pulled out my 907  Rate Topic 
AuthorPost
 Posted: 01-11-2007 09:48 pm
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
CMacksey

I started project euro-tuner by ripping out the 907. I know it's not going to run. But here is my question: What path should I take. I'm new to the world of Jensen's, so I don't know what get me the most money for the engine. Part out, restore, or sell as is?

It still has the 4-speed on it... Man, that gear box is tiny!

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Posted: 01-11-2007 10:57 pm
  PM Quote Reply
2nd Post
Jensen Healey
Super Moderator

The exotic Lotus engine is the heart and soul of the Jensen Healey. Without the engine you have a muddled collection of Vauxhall , Sunbeam, English Ford, Lucas, Girling, Austin and Jaguar parts with an ill fitting top and rusted body that looks like a carp eating a cookie.

With the engine you have the chance at a 240hp screamer with a heart of LOTUS. Remember them? Formula One? Ground effects? Mario Andretti? World Championship? 

It's your car, have fun!

Kurt

Posted: 01-12-2007 01:38 am
  PM Quote Reply
3rd Post
Mark Rosenbaum

I agree with Kurt -- where else can you find an affordable sports car whose engine is just one step away from a Formula 2 powerplant?  That said, of course it's your car and you can -- and should -- do what you think best with it.  But do please recall that with some changes, there's no going back.

As to the engine, my uninformed opinion -- which could well be far off the mark -- is that one that doesn't run is worth perhaps $50-$250; one that runs, maybe $300-$500; one that's been rebuilt by the owner, with full and complete documentation, perhaps $1000-$2000; and one that's been professionally rebuilt by a known competent rebuilder, maybe $2000-$5000 depending on state of tune.

Posted: 01-12-2007 12:58 pm
  PM Quote Reply
4th Post
jcdean

What year vehicle is the motor and tranny from and what is the odometer reading?

Joey