Moderated by: Greg Fletcher
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Front Disc Specs  Rating:  Rating
AuthorPost
 Posted: 05-27-2006 07:52 pm
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
Jim DeClerck

My front discs look a bit pitted/rusty on the edge of the face.  They measure 0.37" in thickness.  Are they refaceable, or replacement candidates?  See picture...

Attachment: 100_0898a.jpg (Downloaded 327 times)

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Posted: 05-27-2006 10:22 pm
  PM Quote Reply
2nd Post
Rick Willard

Jim,

Just had my rotors turned last week.  Before going in to get them done, Delta advised that the minimum thickness should be .343.  I had my rotors turned, and had them set the new wheel bearing races into the hubs for the new wheel bearings I was installing.  It was about $17 each for the rotor turn, and another $5 each to set the bearing races).  I also installed rebuilt calipers, new pads, and the new bearings.  In my case, all went VERY well, with good results. 

I'm no expert, but your rotors look reasonable to me.  If you can get them turned, do it.  If not, the cost w/ Delta is not insane - I think about $115 each with exchange.  Good luck!

Rick 

Posted: 05-30-2006 04:11 pm
  PM Quote Reply
3rd Post
Ron Earp

Anyone know of another source for these things? They have to be common to some car, somewhere, I'm sure.  With solid rotors on a race car their lifetime is measured in hours, and given recent TR8 performance with thicker rotors, I imagine the JH rotors will be very short lived.  Rotors should be farily cheap - we pay about $20-30 each for most rotors we use on various cars.

Thanks,
Ron

Last edited on 05-30-2006 04:13 pm by Ron Earp

Posted: 10-01-2006 10:57 am
  PM Quote Reply
4th Post
normv