New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
oil pressure drop  Rating:  Rating
AuthorPost
 Posted: 02-26-2006 12:15 pm
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
greenthing

Hi guys!

This is my first time posting, so hopefully I'll do it correctly. My father's 1973 JH is having oil pressure problems. The funny :-(  thing is that he has an old Ferrari (1965 330 GT 2+2) that is displaying exactly the same symptoms.

When driving at a steady speed, the oil pressure stays stable.

When the accelerator is touched even lightly, the oil pressure goes DOWN

When letting up on the accelerator, the oil pressure goes UP

Both engines are running Chevron oil instead of Castrol which we have run for years.

I have not found anything on the board which describes this particular situation.

Please help....

Greg Parris

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Posted: 02-26-2006 04:40 pm
  PM Quote Reply
2nd Post
Jensen Healey
Super Moderator

I would say the situation you discribe should be impossible. The oil will make no difference but the filter could. Did you use the same brand filter on the ferrari and the Jensen?

Change the filters.

Kurt

Last edited on 02-26-2006 04:42 pm by Jensen Healey

Posted: 02-26-2006 07:38 pm
  PM Quote Reply
3rd Post
Judson Manning

I have witnessed this correlation between oil pressure and throttle position that you are describing in several JHs.  However, the difference I've seen is only around 5psi, and the oil/filter won't make any difference.

Chalk it up to a well used engine with worn bearings and/or worn oil pump rotors. 

Between the aluminum block and 360^ grooved bearings, this isn't uncommon and nothing to worry about.  The only 'fix' would be to use a x-drilled crank, 180^ bearings and a 'beefier' set of main bearing caps.

Posted: 02-27-2006 05:06 pm
  PM Quote Reply
4th Post
Jim Sohl