Home 

Moderated by: Greg Fletcher  
AuthorPost
mgfaber53

Hi all - newbie here, after many years of lusting after a JH, I finally found the right car at the right price. A '74, #19024.
Previous owner just rebuilt the engine. Cam timing at 110IN 115EX. I've gone through the forums and the shop manual, and it seems it should be 110/110? Haven't located the engine number yet.

Set static timing at about 14 BTDC, seems to run smoothly.
Can someone sheds some light on this for me?

Last edited on 07-30-2021 10:35 pm by mgfaber53

redracer

Sounds like you got yourself a nice one--5spd at that.
Many threads have been written on this, but the 110 IN & EX are what you want.
Assume you have a workshop manual, but the maximum advance I leave at 30, BTDC. (don't care what the idle is, which will usually be 10-15BTDC). Advise you plug up the vacuum retard capsule(on the dizzy)with a steel ball in the 90 degree elbow coming off the back-center of the intake manifold.
keep us posted, bruce

mgfaber53

Thanks for the info Bruce - just what the doctor ordered. The vacuum line is plugged, but the steel ball is a much better solution.
It's a decent car - very straight body, no rust other than the floor pans. Tranny seems good. Fuel replaced gas tank. Lots of work, but I'm semi retired and wanted a project.

Esprit2

The 110 IN / 110 EX cam timing is what you want for best running/ best performing (emissions not being a consideration).

Are both timing marks (110 & 115) on each pulley? As in, does the current 115 EX exhaust pulley also have a second, unused timing dot next to a 110 mark? If yes, then note that on the current front face of the exhaust pulley, there is a 115 EX, and a 110 'IN'. You can NOT time the exhaust cam by an 'IN' timing mark !! You'll bend valves.