Home 
Home Search search Menu menu Not logged in - Login | Register
> Jensen Healey & Jensen GT Tech > Carburetors > Tuning a Weber 45 DCOE setup with Wideband

Moderated by: Greg Fletcher
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Tuning a Weber 45 DCOE setup with Wideband  Rate Topic 
AuthorPost
 Posted: 06-19-2020 09:06 pm
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
discogodfather

I thought I would start this thread anew to help guide people with some info on how to interpret wideband 02 sensor readings in a Weber setup (some of it probably applies to Dell's too).

My background is:

73 Healey
2.0 Liter high compression with 104 Cams
Weber 45's
Delta headers and full 2.5" exhaust front to rear, flowmaster 44

Always wanted to run a wideband, after a complete top end rebuild and cam degree'd in just right the engine is running great and starts with minimal drama.

My current carb setup is:

Emulsion Tube F4
Main Jet 150
Air Corrector 170
Idle Jet 55 F9
Choke 38
Auxiliary Venturi 4.5
Pump Jet 55
Pump Exhaust 40
Stroke Pump Actuator Rod 14mm
Float Level 8.5-15mm

Never really dealt with a raw wideband reading in terms of a gauge. I used a speedhut unit with a Bosch LSU 4.9, it installed very easy and it's a pleasure to work with the gauge (very low profile). The readings are definitely not what I expected. This is an analog gauge made to look like an old Smiths gauge, and the needle bounces around quite a bit. I know this is now normal, as the gauge has a slight lag with carbs (only about a second) and it's never going to read a straight ratio. Digital gauges mask this phenomenon by updating the numbers which doesn't come off as such a big fluctuation, but the analog gauge really gives you an idea of how volatile the situation always is with internal combustion. You learn to read the flotation and kind of visually average it out to get the best idea of where it is.

Some of the readings I am getting currently:

Idle = 13-14 to 1 ratio

WOT= 8-11 to 1 ratio