Moderated by: Greg Fletcher
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Problems with my ignition  Rating:  Rating
AuthorPost
 Posted: 06-15-2009 08:58 am
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
77sito

Hi, I'm Oscar from Spain. I'm restoring a Jensen Healey Vin 19868. I'm near to finish my long restoration, but now I have problem, the engine don't start.

I see the manua repair in order to take the TBC with the light fall conecting a lamp, I put correctly but don't start.

I take out a spark in order to see if the sparks works and the sparks works.

I supose the distributor is so difficult to adjusted, and I have a question for the jensen user's. Anyone can say me the best electronic ignitor for this car?

I have a stromberg carbs and I see the carbs works correctly, the fuel pump send the fuel correctly...I don't have any idea to make that the jensen start.

I'm not a mechanic, I supose a expert starts the engine in a few hours, but I want to do it.

Please, if anyone have a posibility I can prove contact with me.

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Posted: 06-15-2009 11:52 pm
  PM Quote Reply
2nd Post
Jensen Healey
Super Moderator

Hi Oscar,

Does the engine spit or cough when you try to start it?

Or does the starter just spin with no other noise?

Kurt

Posted: 06-17-2009 01:44 pm
  PM Quote Reply
3rd Post
Brett Gibson JH5 20497

Oscar, pull the spark plug at the front of the engine and make sure that the piston is at the top, the cam inlet and exhaust marks are lined up, and the TDC is lined up on the pulley as well, pop the distributor cap and look to see if the rotor is lined up on the #1 spark plug position. It sounds to me like your a full engine revolution off.