Moderated by: Greg Fletcher
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
air box?  Rating:  Rating
AuthorPost
 Posted: 03-02-2009 12:54 am
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
jfhuntsman

I have an embarassing number of JHs.  Two have dell'Ortos with K&N cleaners, most of the rest have Stroms with Wieand/Ramflo cleaners.    But one (bought as a parts car but perhaps salvagable) has a long oval air box in place of the normal cleaners.  It's about 16" long, 5" wide, 4" deep, with a round 3" hole on the upper side.  Based on my SAAB experience, I'm guessing that this is some kind of preheater for running the car in frigid conditions (e.g., my home state of Maine), with some kind of filter inside.  But other than that, I'm lost.  I would probably put Ramflos back on it if and when this one gets fixed but my curiousity is piqued.  Any notions? 

Addendum:  moments ago this thing just popped up on eBay from British Masters (item 140303876105), so obviously this is a stock item for some cars, although I have not been able to find it in my docs. 

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Posted: 03-02-2009 01:20 am
  PM Quote Reply
2nd Post
Jim Ketcham

Actually, the air box was standard on all J-Hs, Dellorto and Stromberg.  The air cleaner (looks like a muffler) attaches to the air box via a ~3in hose.  There are photos in the JHP Photo Gallery one of which can be seen here:(http://jhppg.com/gallery/album40/uEng_with_Dellorto

You can also see drawings in the parts manual and service manual.

The air box serves several important functions.  One thing it does nicely is allow vented crankcase oil vapors to condense and run back into the crankcase while providing a means for the "light boiling point vapors" to be fed to the carbs.

Posted: 03-02-2009 02:04 pm
  PM Quote Reply
3rd Post
jfhuntsman