Moderated by: Greg Fletcher
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
Front wheel bearing adjustment  Rate Topic 
AuthorPost
 Posted: 07-28-2008 09:52 pm
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
subwoofer

Not quite sure if this really belongs in "Brakes", but what the heck.

After changing brake discs, I can't seem to get the front left wheel right again. Tried adjusting the wheel bearing several times, after driving a short distance slack returns, brakes shake and it pulls to the left.

Could it be that the bearing doesn't seat properly, is the inner bearing shot, or do I have to do any tricks to it? Remember, I'm a wheel bearing newbie... The shop manual doesn't seem to mention any special procedure.

I've been told (by knowledgeable friends, at least I belive them to be) that one way of getting the bearings right is to tighten the nut tight, then release and retighten slowly until slack is gone. What confuses me, is that the nut seems to go further in if I repeat the procedure - this leads me to believe that the problem is either that I haven't seated the bearing properly or that it is hot to pieces.

Waddayathink?

--
Joachim, #18711 - now with license plates (!)

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Posted: 07-29-2008 12:29 am
  PM Quote Reply
2nd Post
JHRV8

Hi! I think you are going to have to disassemble the hub/berings and see what is going on with the inner bearing-race.  Could be several things including inner bearing failure, lack of grease, etc,etc. Get your friend to attend the autopsy and help with the diagnosis.(once an MD always an MD.) Regards, Bob.

Posted: 07-29-2008 10:28 am
  PM Quote Reply
3rd Post
Brett Gibson JH5 20497