Moderated by: Greg Fletcher
New Topic Reply Printer Friendly
dashboard wood removal  Rating:  Rating
AuthorPost
 Posted: 06-19-2008 02:24 am
  PM Quote Reply
1st Post
rossjfox

Newbie here.  Redoing the wood on my dash board with a set from Madera Concepts.

To save me time and a lot of head scratching, can someone give me a few pointers as to how these panels are removed?  My car is a 75 JH5 with the real wood panels, not the vaneer.

Just poking around, it seems some knobs are difficult to remove.  I can't figure out how to get the panel light dimmer switch out.  Do I just pull the knob really hard to get it off and allow the switch to come out the back?  Also the choke knob seems to suffer the same problem.

What about that little panel by the ash tray?  Is it just glued down?

Any advice would be helpful.  Thanks in advance.

Ross

Back To Top PM Quote Reply  

Posted: 06-19-2008 03:02 am
  PM Quote Reply
2nd Post
JodyFKerr

(*someone please correct me if I'm wrong*)

The pieces with the full wood are all adhered with glue, there are no screw on bits, or easily removable ones.

Assuming you've recieved the kit from Maderia concepts, the ashtray isn't an issue. The piece that resides undeer the dash is the simplest. unscrew it, and dicsonnnect the clock (if equipped). Heat if from behind with a head gun and pop the wood off with a screwdriver.

In terms of the center console, once it's completely unscrewed, the heater knobs need to be removed. The black knobs slide on but tend to be glued/stuck in place. depending on their condition, it is possible for them to disintegrate in your hands. Once you get that, and disconnect the lights (ignition, etc) you're good to go.

The last bit is the glove box. That requires a ful disassembly. Based on what's sent back, you'll either be able to screw it on top or replace the full part.

Jody

Posted: 06-19-2008 03:54 pm
  PM Quote Reply
3rd Post
edward_davis