View single post by answerman
 Posted: 12-28-2017 04:31 pm
PM Quote Reply Full Topic
answerman

It's still a project even though I've been driving her for over 5 years, right? So this is still an appropriate place to post?

Anyway, over the next couple weekends I am FINALLY going to get around to installing the stuff I've been sitting on for way too long.

It's time to get the blue Gates Racing timing belt installed: it's not doing any good having occupied space in the boot since last spring.

Also, I need to install the new motor mounts (Land Rover) that I've had for almost 2 years. The logic behind this (ok, it works on paper) is as follows:

I currently have the aftermarket motor mounts from Delta from about 3 years ago, in addition to the Delta 4 into 1 header. When I shim the motor mounts to allow clearance for the steering shaft through the header, it raises the engine up enough so that the timing belt cover contacts the underside of the bonnet. The temporary solution was to remove the top half of the cover, but in doing some measuring and playing with it I found that if I can actually lower the right/passenger side of the engine, I don't have to shim the left side as high since I can get more of a "twist" to the engine rotation. So, I'm going to try the Land Rover mounts since they are not quite as thick as the Delta mounts. I'm probably not going to put the cover back on anyway (the bottom half will come off when I do the timing belt change) but this seems to be the time to experiment with it.