View single post by Mark Rosenbaum
 Posted: 07-22-2005 06:21 pm
PM Quote Reply Full Topic
Mark Rosenbaum

It's my understanding that the mounting studs for the transmission crossmember are located in the same place for both 4- and 5-speed cars, but I'm not an expert on 5-speed cars and may be wrong.  That said, my understanding is provided below.

The 5-speed attaches to the car through (a) an adapter bracket, (b) the same transmission mount ('insulator') used by the 4-speed, and (c) the same transmission crossmember used by the 4-speed, as shown in the 'Cases and Bearings - Exploded' line drawing for the 5-speed transmission.

Attached are photos of 4- and 5-speeds with bell housings, unfortunately not to quite the same scale.  Nonetheless, it's quite clear from the photos that the 5-speed has a longer case and a much shorter bell housing than the 4-speed.

Based on these photos, with respect to the front face of the bell housing, I'd expect that the rear mounting surface on a 5-speed is actually two or three inches forward of the mounting foot on a 4-speed.  If that's actually the case, then it would make sense for the adapter bracket to make up the difference and place the transmission crossmember in the same location for both 4- and 5-speed cars.  From the line drawing of the bracket, it appears that this is precisely what it's intended to do.

IIRC, you mentioned elsewhere that you bought this 5-speed as part of a parts collection intended for a 4- to 5-speed conversion.  Since you've already had a problem with the drive shaft, perhaps you should be suspicious of the remaining parts.  You might measure the front-to-rear dimensions of the bell housing, transmission, etc., and compare these to those from parts known to be factory items.

If all else fails, it should be a simple matter to drill a pair of holes on either side of the transmission tunnel so that things will line up and mount to the car.